fokichina.blogg.se

Basilisk ii question mark floppy
Basilisk ii question mark floppy







basilisk ii question mark floppy

The problem wasn't related to the mechanical parts though, it was an IC that blew out you can see the melted silicon from where it did. Took out an RPG I was working on that I was seriously just two weeks from finishing. I've only ever had one drive outright die on me, nine months after it was first put into operation. I've learned that the more powerful a current drive is compared to what's available when you buy it, the more likely it will fail sooner, whereas the cheaper drives that don't have the same capacity or speed, but are still name-brand and made recently, are more likely to survive. So, how has the first 8 days of September been for you? >full bottle of jack daniels and half a box of wine >put apple hdd and cd back in case, decide to look for external case >another hdd, another install of xp, NEW ide cables >voodoo 5 main hard drive isnt good, dies >burn mac format cd, with game ( and others) >non apple internal hard drive = screw you >try to use last 2gb of 4gb hard drive as 2nd drive, ibm format for "easy" transfers >1 hour waiting for 4.3gb drive to be formatted, only 2gb usable, whatever >Find the "server" version of the format utility, it works >find out, apple format will not format non apple internal drives. >660av is CADDY load, I dont have a caddy. >spend an hour rescuing pentium pro benchmark results >My voodoo 5 rig's main hard drive starts making click of death (I use it daily in my "workshop", its a good in-between for new and old stuff) >spend 2 hours online looking for a newer version >"this version is too old for this Macintosh" >replace 500mb hard drive in 660av with aftermarket 4.3gb Keep in mind, my ultimate goal was to install and play the original Escape Velocity. From here, I'm going to shorten the events leading up to me going to the liquor store to kill some brain cells. goose-fra-ba" I said to myself as I went to look for a mac boot disk. So I go to boot it, and you probably guessed it. The one in the LCIII was bad as well, but it would at least hold a charge long enough to boot. For those that don't know, Macs are really wonky when they dont have their battery. Time to make some more lemonade! I decide to fix up the 660av at this point. I half-expected someone to shout "ding" and hold up a large sign with a 6 on it. One of the magnetic heads decides to end it all, and crashes into the platter, literally destroying the drive. I have heard this noise many times AFTER the fact. I was playing another game, loony labyrinth, When I literally hear the drive self-destruct. Apparently, all this excitement was too much for the hard drive. (The term cluster-fuck is the best word to describe how it looks). I was amused to see my late father's PHd dissertation still on the thing. The game I was itching to play, worked! I ran it through its paces, looked at the contents of the hard drive. It booted right up! Its probably been sitting in my basement for 10 years, but it fired right up. I have 3 macs sitting around, I should be able to cobble something together into a working system.įirst, I went to the LCIII machine, my father bought it new in 93' and it had all the game installs and saved games i ever had. The ultimate goal was to play some old 68k games. I've had a Quadra 660av tripping me in the night for a good year, its about time I tried to see if it worked. I decide to make lemonade, and decide to get an old Macintosh working. It took 5 days, but seagate finally admitted to receiving the package yesterday. I lost 2 pairs of SSD drives and now this. But with the ST:TNG coming out on blue-ray, I think I'm going to survive.įor the record, this is the FIFTH hard drive that has died on me, this year. Thankfully I got everything of any importance, I'm going to have to re-download a lot TV. It took me about 10 HOURS, to get the data off the drive. It took a day of playing with it, but I found that it was my 1500gb hard drive that was the cause. I have taken out most of the colorful language.Īlmost 2 weeks ago now, I noticed that my main system was having stuttering issues.

basilisk ii question mark floppy

Now that I'm sober, and had a goon night sleep, I'm not nearly as angry but I still need to type this. I had originally wrote this last night, however it was really not safe for work, it also looked like I typed it by mashing my face on the keyboard. I'm just going to type this out, I don't care if anyone reads it, but its going to be here.









Basilisk ii question mark floppy